The group that became the Oklahoma Conservative Assembly first organized when around a half-dozen conservative activists met together late one night in December 2005 at the IHOP in Moore, Oklahoma to discuss problems in the local GOP organization. They decided to organize a club for conservatives in the Moore-Norman area, chose the name Sooner Republican Assembly, affiliated as Cleveland County’s chapter of the National Federation of Republican Assemblies (NFRA), and elected former Cleveland County GOP Chair Kathy McBlair as the group’s first president.

Over the next decade, our group went through several cycles of growth and rebuilding but has continued to meet on a monthly basis, with up to 40 active members at any given time. We have held numerous endorsing conventions over the years to meet and evaluate candidates, giving a recommendation to the voters as to which candidates best meet the criteria of being small-government conservatives.

Our membership includes current and former GOP County Chairs and Vice Chairs, State and District Committeemen, State Representatives, State Senators, City Councilmen, County Commissioners, doctors, attorneys, college professors, writers, pastors, tradesmen, farmers, retirees, and people from all walks of life. Though the bulk of our membership lives in the Moore-Norman area, we have members and attendees who come from as far away as Chickasha, Guthrie, and Seminole.

In 2014, Kathy McBlair stepped down after nine years at the helm, and long-time Vice President Jared Byrns was elected to succeed her as President. Since then, the group has tried to move beyond focusing solely on politics to how conservatism can engage the culture as well.

In June 2016, the group voted unanimously to disaffiliate from the NFRA and to form an independent organization—to be called the Oklahoma Conservative Assembly—in hopes of broadening its outreach beyond GOP activists and outside of Cleveland County.